In this article, you will learn:
- What user provisioning options are available in Sherpany
- What the limitations of SCIM are regarding assistants
- What workaround we recommend
- How to remove a user with user provisioning
What user provisioning options are available?
- Manual creation
Users are manually added to Sherpany via the User Management tab. During this process, the assistant can be directly assigned to another user. - Automated provisioning via SCIM (e.g. Entra ID)
Users are automatically provisioned in Sherpany through your Identity Management System using the SCIM interface.
Information
SCIM does not support the assistant permission.
What are the limitations of SCIM regarding assistants?
Sherpany does not officially support assistants via SCIM provisioning, because:
SCIM-created users cannot be changed to the permission "Assistant”.
SCIM does not provide information about the user the assistant should be assigned to.
Therefore, the assistant permission must be assigned manually.
Recommended workaround
If you need to set up an assistant while using SCIM, follow these steps:
Add the user to the Entra ID group for the target room → The user is automatically created in Sherpany via SCIM with the permission “User with restricted permission”
Remove the user from the room manually in Sherpany → This step is necessary because the SCIM-created permission cannot be changed to assistant.
Manually re-create the user in the user in the Sherpany room (User Management tab). You can now assign the assistant to a user.
Information
The same steps apply for guests and minute viewers if these roles are not set as default.
In case of questions, please reach out to our support.
How to remove a user from a room with user provisioning?
If you want to remove a user from a room, please follow the process outlined below:
- Requesting user removal: to remove a user from a Sherpany room, please submit the request through your internal User Management System. For guidance on the process, contact your designated Sherpany contact within your organization.
- User removal: once approved, the user will be automatically removed from the Sherpany room.